Kurtzbert-photo-of-winnersThe Camera club of HHI recently presented the prestigious Kurtzberg award for excellence in photography.
Started in 1998, the Kurtzberg Awards are presented annually in honor of the club’s founder, Larry Kurtzberg, who felt it was the civic duty of the club to encourage youth photography.
            The club-sponsored contest was open only to students at Hilton Head Island High School. The students did all their own processing and matting.
            These awards have become a tradition at the school over the past 18 years. Each recipient received a certificate of merit and a monetary award, and the winning photos will be framed by the Club and hung at its spring exhibit at Honey Horn.
            The winners of the 2016 awards are:

            1st place – Savannah Heitmann for her image “Sparks” $200

            2nd place – Kelly Mianowski for her image “Blue Sunset’$150

            3rd Place – Emily Todd for her image “Boy in Mirror”$100

            Honorable Mention Izabella Wilkins for her image “Our Lord and Savior”

            All entrants are students of Hilton Head Island High School photography teacher Patty Scholkopf-Lewis.

            Camera club members Kendra Natter, Karen Migliacchio, Rich Daly, Lew Allison, Victor Pizzollato, and Gerry Fagan assisted in judging.

            Gerry Fagan chairman of The Kurtzberg said that we had 45 entries this year that was up about ten entries from last year. The entries were so good our judges struggled to select the top images. We added 1 honorable mention this year because of how close the point totals were.

            This year our 1st place winner received perfect 10’s from every judge, our judges are all very good well respected photographers. To receive a perfect score of 50 is truly a remarkable achievement.

            Camera Club meetings are held at 7 p.m. the fourth Tuesday of each month, September through June, at OSHER Life Long Learning Center, 2 Matthews Ct., Hilton Head Island, SC.

            For more information, visit www.CCHHI.net.

Photo from left to right:
Emily Todd, Savannah Heitmann, Kelly Mianowski, cchhi member Kendra Natter

Photo by Donna Varner