wizardUSCB Center for the Arts and The Beaufort Children’s Theatre will present the beloved family musical, “The Wizard of OZ, young performers edition” May 17 and 18 at 7 pm and Sunday, May 19 at 3 pm.  This one-hour edition begins when a tornado rips through Kansas, Dorothy (Scarlett Mercier) and her dog, Toto, (Maren Tillapaugh) are whisked away in their house to the magical land of Oz.

They follow the Yellow Brick Road toward the Emerald City to meet the Wizard, and en route they meet a Scarecrow (Sara Rose Lyda) that needs a brain, a Tin Man (Carter Thibault and Mason Herrmann) missing a heart, and a Cowardly Lion (Dakota Wright) who wants courage.

“The Wizard of Oz” cast is comprised of over 90 talented young actors between the ages of 7 to 18.  Additional cast member includes: Aunt Em – Audrey Litteral, Uncle Henry – Cole Mueller, Hickory – Carter Thibault and Mason Herrmann, Zeke – Dymante Scotland, Hunk – Garrett Doe, Farm Hand – Sophia Mercier, Miss Gulch – Ledare Pingree, Professor Marvel – Emmett O’Brien, Glinda – Brycen Ambrose, Wicked Witch – Holland Perryman, Wizard of Oz – Jack Fleming.

Winkie Guards – Noah Shaffer, Kael Forrestall, Timmy Irwin, Ian Brooks, Patrick Sanders, AJ Robinson, Garrett Seckinger, Henry Lovett

Nikko-Micah Schaeffer, Nikko friends – Thomas Faivre, Layna Schaefer, Hayden Strawn

Munchkin(s) – Olive Ann Florence, Lily Severtson, Angel Hampton, Karlie Fiocco, Ava Keller, Hannah Grace Meyer, Morgan Green, Savannah Gordan, Isabella DuPont, Erin Crosby, Marie Sophie Alvarez, Mackenzie Goodrich, Raynor Gault, Katie Bertagna, Blakely Gecy, Lucy Mae Nicka, Kaitlyn Jackson, Luci Zappa, Paige Fosberry, Judah Schaeffer, Liam Martin, Aemiliana Ledesma, Finn Brock, Grayson Odom, Lukas Copeland, Caroline O’Kelley, Sophia-Rayne Dickinson

Emerald City Ensemble and supporting cast: Vivian Kinsey, Anna Claire Stansell, Rials Gault, Aly Dennison, Mia Ramirez, Natalie Dardes, Megan Alvarez, Mary Ruff, Maggie Stephens, Lauren Grice, Bridget Long, Caylin Gecy, Jasmine Rivers, Lelia Green, Nora O’Brien, Brea Parker, Audrey Litteral, Ledare Pingree, Dyamante Scotland, Cole Mueller, Eleanor Dolan, Emily Breaux, Tallie Pendarvis, Peyton Brock, Jaclyn Bacon, Carolina Gordan, Timani Smith, Arden Luikey, Katie Martin, Amelia Raino, Sara Mae Toler, Blythe Averill, Lelia Gould, Rachel Hampton, Piper Kennedy, Caroline Patterson, Nicole Robinson, Ava Sink, Kaylee Chavers, Caron Crosby, Kori Mueller, Addy Norris, Virginia O’Kelley

The Beaufort Children’s Theatre Wizard of OZ director is Noah Krepps, Angela Brooks, choreographer, Meredith Smith, music director.

Written in 1900 by L. Frank Baum, “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz” was the first totally American fantasy for children and one of the most-read children’s books (according to the Library of Congress). The 1939 film starring Judy Garland was nominated for six Academy Awards but lost Best Picture to Gone with the Wind. It did win Best Original Song for “Over the Rainbow” which nearly didn’t make it into the final cut. The film was reintroduced to the public with annual broadcasts that began in 1956 earning it the title “most-watched motion picture in history!”

Tickets are on sale now for “The Wizard of Oz, YTE”.  Ticket prices: Adult $20, Senior/Military $18 and Student $14.  To purchase tickets or for additional information go to uscbcenterforthearts.com. or call 843-521-4145.